1880
GIUSEPPE

L’ARTISAN


L’Histoire Cifonelli débute avec un esthète, Giuseppe, passionné par le flair et l’élégance à l’italienne, il fonde à Rome en 1880 le premier atelier grande-mesure.

1926
ARTURO

LE GENIE


Plus tard c’est Arturo, fils de Giuseppe qui décidera de développer l’activité de son père avec une réelle volonté d’y apporter un élan international. Il a pour cela effectué ses études de tailleur à Londres au sein de la prestigieuse Minister’s Cutting Acadamy, il en sortira diplômé en 1911.

L’inédite association des styles italien et anglais donne naissance à une technicité encore jamais soupçonnée. Arturo créera en effet une nouvelle coupe alliant le structurisme anglais à la légèreté italienne. Célèbre par une épaule atypique, cette allure offre une liberté de mouvement inégalée tout en proposant une ligne près du corps.

1972
ADRIANO

UN DEVELOPPEMENT CONTINU


Les salons et ateliers Cifonelli deviendront rapidement un lieu phare et largement plébiscité des artistes, notables et prescripteurs de l’époque. Il n’en demeure pas moins aujourd’hui un lieu très prisé où des clients du monde entier se retrouvent dans une inconditionnelle discrétion.

A la mort d’Arturo en 1972, son fils Arturo fait perdurer l’œuvre de son père jusqu’au début des années 90. Il appuiera largement le développement international entreprit jusqu’alors, Adriano s’imposera rapidement comme une référence dans l’univers du tailoring.

1994
MASSIMO ET LORENZO

DE TAILLEUR Â « COUTURE »


Au début des années 90, après avoir tous les deux grandit parmi les tables de coupe et autres patronages, Massimo et Lorenzo entrent officiellement dans l’histoire de la Maison.

Visionnaires, ils réinventeront le métier de tailleur en apportant une touche de modernité et en entamant une véritable révolution stratégique. On en retiendra une étroite collaboration avec la maison Hermès entre 1992 et 2008. C’est sans relâche que ces derniers parcourent le monde à la rencontre de leurs clients et s’imprègnent d’une inspiration traduite dans leur « couture contemporaine ».

Une nouvelle page Cifonelli s’écrit depuis juin 2014 avec le lancement d’une première ligne complète en Prêt-à-Porter et les prémices d’un projet de développement d’envergure…

↑ Back to the top

1880
GIUSEPPE

THE CRAFTSMAN


The Cifonelli venture starts with an aesthete, Giuseppe. Passionate about chic Italian elegance, he opened the first Cifonelli atelier in 1880 and founded the bespoke tailoring company.

1926
ARTURO

THE GENIUS


Arturo, Giuseppe’s son, took over the Cifonelli brand with a clear desire to extend its influence abroad. He therefore moved to London to receive further training at the respectable Minister’s Cutting Academy where he graduated in 1911.

This unique combination of Italian and English style laid out the bases of an unprecedented technicality. He decided to create a new Cut by merging the precision of the English tailoring with the softness and comfort of the Italian sartoria. The Cifonelli cut was born. The Cifonelli shoulder quickly became the worldwide ultimate signature of the brand. Its forward cut, offers a unique freedom of movement and testifies to an astonishing style.

In 1926, Arturo made an historic move by settling in Paris. He founded the 31 rue Marbeuf atelier in 1936, providing to the rue Marbeuf the first corner stone of what would become subsequently one of the most renowned street in the world for men elegance.

1972
ADRIANO

CONTINUOUS DEVELOPMENT


Soon, the Cifonelli salon became part of the Cifonelli legend, thus, during the Cinecitta Dolce Vita’s period the house became the Must-Have tailor for countless actors, directors and socialites. It remains today, with an unconditional discretion, to welcome famous clientele from all over the world.

When Arturo died in 1972, his son Adriano carried on his father’s work until the early 1990s. Cifonelli gradually became a reference in the world of luxury tailor-made clothes.

1994
MASSIMO AND LORENZO

FROM TAILORING TO COUTURE


In the early 90’s, after a youth spent between patterns, cutting tables and bundles of fabrics, Lorenzo and Massimo, both Arturo’s grandsons, officially initiated their history with the brand.

Ten years later, they were heading the Paris largest bespoke atelier and launched a strategic revolution starting a close collaboration with Hermès (1992-2008), absorbing other tailors, and revamping the Jacket style giving it a modern and ac tive look.

The most recent milestone of Cifonelli’s 134th year of history is the launch in June 2014 of a full Ready-to-Wear collection true to the Cifonelli fit, and the start of an international expansion.

↑ Back to the top